Week 2: The Documentary Form as Visual Sociology

This week in class we will come to understand the documentary form and its uses for visual sociology. We will go over this Prezi review of the book. We will ready and discuss the first half of the book Documentary Film: A Very Short Introduction. We will also watch part of the documentary Capturing Reality: The Art of Documentary, time permitting. Students are also encouraged to check out the website and video clips from this documentary. We will finalize students’ ideas about their own projects and make sure everyone is up to speed on creating their own WordPress.com website where they will post their project. Your “About Me” page  should include a biographical blur, a link to this course and a statement that your website is part of this course, and your topic of interest. You can check out samples of student pages from my Analyzing Reality Television course here, for more ideas. You can post a link to your website in the comment section on this blog posting. You can also look at my Prezi.com on how to make a documentary film, for some ideas about framing.

11 comments on “Week 2: The Documentary Form as Visual Sociology

  1. mg04veri says:

    http://kickbackandraisealittlehell.wordpress.com/about/

    This is a link to my wordpress site. -Michael Verile

  2. dr2carl says:

    About Me

    This is a link to my wordpress site

    -Danielle Carl

  3. lm19ryan says:

    http://environmentforthepeople.wordpress.com

    This is the link to my wordpress site
    – Lauren Ryan

  4. mulvaneyjack says:

    Biography

    This is my wordpress blog

    Jack Mulvaney

  5. nm22mooc says:

    About Me

    This is the link to my wordpress.

    Nichole Moocz

  6. mj30clay says:

    here is the link to my blog and about me page.

    About Me Page

  7. rakeembrookins says:

    This is my link to my about me page.

    About Me

Leave a comment